The 2021/5782 Mazals was December 16th, 2022 — watch the recording below:

Every year, The Mazals is an opportunity to join together in lifting up the incredible vision, courage, and dedication of the people in our community and wider movement who’ve demonstrated — whether quietly behind the scenes, or loudly and proudly on the frontlines — creative leadership in moving a transformative agenda. The Mazals is also a time and place for us to bask in the glow of our collective accomplishments and to ground ourselves in our love, respect, and admiration for one another.

While The Mazals has typically taken place in December, beginning in 2023, the event will take place in the spring or summer. Here's why: Two and a half years into the pandemic, it’s hard to get excited about yet another virtual gala. At the same time, hosting the same type of mass in-person and indoors gathering that we did in The Before Times is simply not aligned with our values as an inclusive and caring community. So we made the decision to move The Mazals to late spring/early summer in 2023 so the event can be in-person and outdoors (with an option for virtual attendance, of course)! The exact date for the 2023 Mazals is TBD and you can expect all of the things you love about The Mazals: music, honorees, ruckus, old friends and new!

Below is a complete list of all previous honorees 1995 - 2021:


Henry Schwarzschild (z”l)


Sam Wallach (z”l) and the Teacher’s Union

The Chinese Staff & Workers’ Association


Allen Ginsberg (z”l)

Judith Malina (z”l)

Emcee: Jenny Romaine


Martin S. Needleman

Southside Fair Housing Committee

Emcee: Marilyn Kleinberg Neimark


Dr. Roscoe C. Brown, Jr. (z”l)

Dr. Sandi Cooper

Mrs. Edith B. Everett

Welfare Rights Initiative

Emcee: Marjorie Fine


Marilyn Kleinberg Neimark

Donna Nevel

Emcee: Marlene Provizer


Dr. Alan Berkman (z”l)

The Innocence Project

Robert Meeropol

Susan Rosenberg

Laura Whitehorn

Youth Force

Emcee: Ossie Davis (z”l)


Domestic Workers United

DRUM: Desis Rising Up and Moving

Adam Shapiro and the Shapiro Family

Henry Foner (z”l)

Annette Rubenstein (z”l)

Emcees: Jesse Ehrensaft-Hawley and Ellen Gurzinsky


Tami Gold

Juan González

Amy Goodman

Naomi Klein

Richie Pérez (z”l)

Art Spiegelman

Emcee: Reno


Audre Lorde Project

Jessie Cagan (z”l) & Leslie Cagan

Rev. James Alexander Forbes

Seymour Melman (z”l)

Michael Ratner (z”l)

Emcee: Kate Clinton


Tony Kushner

Grace Paley (z”l)

The Members of Transport Workers Union Local 100


New York AIDS Housing Network

Frances Goldin

Adrienne Rich (z”l)

Debbie Almontaser

Emcee: John Guare


Ann Cook

Families for Freedom

Deborah Meier

Mikey Weinstein

Emcees: Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez


Picture the Homeless

David Rothenberg

Himmelstein, McConnell, Gribben, Donoghue & Joseph

Emcee: Jennifer Miller


Si Kahn

Adrienne Cooper (z”l)

Stephen Said

Emcee: Marjorie Fine


Jose Antonio Vargas

United We Dream

Freedom Riders Reverend C.T. Vivian and Joan Pleune

Emcee: Ariel Federow


Melanie Kaye/Kantrowitz (z”l)


Eric Ward

Emcee: Deb Margolin


Rinku Sen

Alan Levine

Communities United for Police Reform

Emcee: Jenny Romaine


Debby King

Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum

Andrea Ritchie and Streetwise & Safe

Emcee: Urvashi Vaid

2015 - 25th Anniversary

Cynthia Greenberg

Jenny Romaine

Black Lives Matter Founders Alicia Garza, Opal Tometi, and Patrisse Cullors

Emcees: Linda Sarsour and Eric Ward


CAAAV: Organizing Asian Communities

Deepa Iyer

Yavilah McCoy

Emcee: Kate Bornstein


Rabbi Ellen Lippmann

Linda Sarsour

We Dream in Black

Emcee: Yehudah Webster


Marisa Franco & Mijente

Justice Committee

Ruby Sales

Laura Wernick

Emcee: Barbara Smith


Mariame Kaba

Tiffany Cabán

Make the Road NY

2009 JFREJ Board of Directors

Emcee: Audrey Sasson (Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez in absentia)


Anthonine Pierre and Brooklyn Movement Center

Jews For Jamaal

Let My People Go

Nurses of NYSNA

Emcee: Morgan Bassichis


Joo-Hyun Kang

Shoshana Brown

The Fund Excluded Workers Hunger Strikers

Upper West Side Open Hearts, Shams DaBaron (Da Homeless Hero) and the Men of the Lucerne

Emcee: Jaslin Kaur


[Gap Year - The Mazals will resume in the spring/summer of 2023!]