The 2018 JFREJ Awards

Whether JFREJ is new to you or you’ve been attending events for years, we hope you will join us at The 2018 JFREJ Awards! The reception starts at 6pm, and the program at 7pm.

We’re thrilled to announce our honorees for this year:

Marisa Franco & Mijente: The Melanie Kaye/Kantrowitz Visionary Award

Mijente is a national Latinx organization and movement building network mobilizing Latinx and Chicanx communities against immigration enforcement and criminalization. We honor them and Founding Director Marisa Franco for their bold leadership model, rigorous analysis, and principled integrity in the fight for racial justice and the rights of immigrants.

Justice Committee: The Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer Risk Taker Award

The Justice Committee is a grassroots organization dedicated to building a movement against police violence and systemic racism in NYC. We honor them for challenging the most entrenched power dynamics in the city, all while bringing love, care, and support to their members and all those impacted by police violence.

Ruby Sales: The Emma Lazarus Poet of the People Award

Ruby Sales is a life-long activist, teacher, and public theologian. We honor her for her many decades of inspired and dedicated leadership, for her audacity and endurance, for her ability to open hearts and shake the pillars of power with her voice, and for the truth she has told in the service of liberation.

Bedrock Member Leader Award: Laura Wernick

We are thrilled to lift up the many contributions of member leader Laura Wernick. She has consistently and generously shown up for varied facets of JFREJ’s work with little need for recognition or fanfare.

You can buy your tickets, join the Host Committee, place ads in the program book, and sign up to volunteer here:

If you would like to get involved with making the event a success, please contact Nikki at